Hello Guest

Author Topic: Collisions  (Read 8605 times)

bigtunacan

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
Collisions
« on: April 21, 2012, 02:03:17 pm »
I'm a bit of a noob to Unity as well as the 2D Toolkit.  I'm trying to do collisions between animations to animations, but I just can't figure out how to script this.  I've created colliders in the editor, but I can't see how to access and use them in the script.

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Collisions
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2012, 05:49:38 pm »
What kind of collisions are you after?
If you just need to find out of two objects are colliding / intersecting with one another - set both of them to trigger, and use OnTriggerEnter to get this information. Note that you'll have to give at least one of them a rigidbody (and also set IsKinematic to true if you're moving them from script)

bigtunacan

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2012, 06:50:41 pm »
I just want to check for a collision between the player and enemies, pretty basic.  So if I give my character a rigid body, but not to anything else; then I can do character to enemy collisions, but not enemy to enemy?  Is that right?

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2012, 08:24:12 pm »
Yup. You can have the OnTriggerEnter function on either the player or the enemy - pros and cons to both.

bigtunacan

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2012, 06:47:05 pm »
Not sure what I'm doing wrong, but I still can't get this working :(

I have my main character which is an Animated Sprite, and I have added to this a Rigidbody.  I have added a Box Collider to my main character.  I have checked Is Trigger and Is Kinematic.

My enemy is a prefab that I create in the script.  Within the prefab I have added a Box Collider.

Just as a simple test to see if things were working I added this function into the script associated with my main character.

Code: [Select]