Hello Guest

Author Topic: Whack a Mole Tut Help/Basic Questions  (Read 7759 times)

BBaller1337

• View Profile
Whack a Mole Tut Help/Basic Questions
« on: September 21, 2013, 04:35:26 am »
Hi,

I'm new to Unity trying to build a 2D (not 2.5D) platforming game. Having done some research I heard 2D Toolkit was good for 2D games in general so I thought it'd be a good start. Unfortunately I'm already running into some trouble.

In the Whack a Mole tutorial, it wants me to create a background which may ultimately result in something like this. However when doing the part where I insert the Fields (see http://unikronsoftware.com/2dtoolkit/doc/2.20/tutorial/whack_a_mole/game_objects.html section "Putting Sprites in the Game" step 2), it doesn't display properly in the "Game" menu. I tried changing my pixels per meter to 1 (it was 20 but I noticed one of the images had it changed to 1) and I tried redoing the steps but to no avail.

I can kind of get it to work by scaling it but if the image has a width of 1024 and my game's resolution is 1024, I should be able to insert it with no need for scaling, correct? I ultimately want to create a game with a resolution of something like 640 x 360 and I'm having all the graphics drawn for this resolution so if I have to have things oddly scaled it's going to really be a pain...

Here are a few pictures to help show my situation:

http://gyazo.com/5411c7bfb3355faddebb730e0854bfa3.png
http://gyazo.com/82f08df1164108cfea0ce835cffb0d64.png
http://gyazo.com/e77eb70cf99403207fcf646cc926b666.png

Thanks for any insight anyone can offer into what's causing the problem and how I can solve it.