Hello Guest

Author Topic: Noob questions  (Read 3899 times)

Saxi

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
Noob questions
« on: November 23, 2013, 02:34:28 pm »
I'm new to Unity, and purchased 2D Toolkit along with a few other highly recommended assets.

I'm on the fence about using 2D Toolkit or Unity 2D features.  I can see Unity 2D is not quite fully implemented and 2D Toolkit brings some cool stuff.

If going the 2D Toolkit route, I had some questions.

It looks like 2D Toolkit Camera is a the core camera but overloaded with additional functionality.  I assume if using 2D Toolkit the default camera won't offer anything over the 2D Toolkit and it is recommended to stick with your custom camera.

As far as I can see, when using 2D Toolkit you will pack sprites with the toolkit, and would animate them using 2D Toolkit, and the rest you would use Unity for?  I'm not 100% sure where you use 2D Toolkit and where you use Unity, but it seems 2D Toolkit would be camera, sprite packing, fonts, asset swapping, and animation.

Know of any good guides on using 2D Toolkit w/ PlayMaker?

My biggest issue I'm having starting to use Unity is handling multiple aspect ratios.  I want to support all mobile devices and tablets with as little effort as possible and highest fidelity image assets.  Can you point me to a good resource doing this with 2D Toolkit, or explain the best way to do this?

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Noob questions
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2013, 07:21:51 pm »