Hello Guest

Author Topic: Understanding UILayout  (Read 3353 times)

JakeTBear

• View Profile
Understanding UILayout
« on: December 13, 2013, 07:53:35 am »
Hello,

I am fairly new to Unity and even newer to 2D toolkit but I am already quite impressed with it and how easy everything has been.

I was able to make sprites collections and use them, I was also able to create some simple buttons and to properly setup my camera for multiple resolutions, I wanted to thank you guys for doing such a fine job in all of that.

But I hit a block, nothing mayor but I seem to not be able to find much information about it, besides the examples that come with the asset. I was attempting to create a scrollable area to make a level selection menu, nothing fancy, but I really cant grasp how to properly setup the content area, or the limits of it, I read that a layout item needs to be setup, but I also do not understand how this component works, if you could point me to a tutorial that explains it or some video that demonstrates how to use it or if you could provide me with a short explanation in simple words (I am fairly new!) about how to use it I would be very grateful!

Thanks you :)

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Understanding UILayout
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2013, 11:10:26 am »
The best way to learn how that layout thing / scrollable area works is to look at UI demo #5.That shows you 2 ways of achieving the same result, the one using layout is considerably easier and quicker to set up.

Some things to remember:

Each tk2dUILayout has dimensions. Eg. the ItemTemplate object (which would normally be a prefab) has actual bounds (purple outline when selected). This may be bigger than the contents, or smaller if you want overlap.