Hello Guest

Author Topic: Starting new project. Best Practices for sprite size and multiple resolutions.  (Read 3556 times)

drswoboda

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
Hello,

I'm a new comer to 2D Toolkit and 2D in Unity in general. I'm starting a new project that ultimately I wish to publish to WP8, iOS, and Android. I know it will be messy with all the various resolutions.

I have spent a few hours here reading many posts on how to handle multiple resolutions. I have quite a collection of posts in OneNote for reference. As 2D Toolkit has matured, I see that the approach has also modified itself over the past two years of posts.

I would love to see a full fledged A-Z guide on how to start a multi-resolution project.

Being a newb, I have been considering where to start. I read in the documentation that I should start with the Low-Res assets first. That seems a bit backwards to my thinking from a creation viewpoint. But I am following that piece of advice from the developers.

My plan is to target WP8 Landscape as the native project size. It's screen layouts are 16:9 & 16:10 (800x480, 1280x720, 1280,768, and 1920x1080). The iOs sizes fit inside those sizes. Android, well that is all over the place, so I'll play that by ear.

So I have started to mock up my graphics in Photoshop. I have setup a template at HD1080. My thought is that I can scale down from there to other sprite sizes. My character is fairly large in size. I'm mocking it up as a 256x256 sprite. My geometric tiles will be 128x128 and 128x256. I believe that 2D Toolkit and Unity can use non-power of 2 sprites, and I'm sure I may have a few, but I'll try to stay with powers of 2.

So this would be my Large sprite set. Then I can half that for the 1x sprites. Does this make sense? Am I approaching this correctly?

Any help would be appreciated.
-David

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Yes that should be fine.