Hello Guest

Author Topic: 2D Toolkit and Tilemap workflow question  (Read 5280 times)

NoradZero

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
2D Toolkit and Tilemap workflow question
« on: October 03, 2014, 11:38:45 pm »
Hey guys,

I am new to Unity and the toolkit. I have a question.

What is your workflow of using the toolkit tilemap features to build your levels ?

I mean, i am currently converting a game from another engine and what i was doing is loading dynamically the level each time the player leave the actual level. I also plugged a persistance system to it which enable me to return to that level anytime. So that mean i am gonna have tons of levels.

I wanted to use Tiled but the triggers aren't really that complex. So what would you do ?

1- Go 1 scene = 1 level and use 2D Toolkit to import the .TMX into each scenes then add my stuff inside each of them manually from the Unity editor ?
2- Go dynamic. Load by code the level as i did before (Dunno if this can be done with the 2D toolkit import) in one scene only and code my own persistance system to it. For triggers use seperate .XML files per trigger which define the actual trigger for objects which gonna be loaded in a base class.
3- Put all my levels in one scene.

Thanks!

What should i do ?

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit and Tilemap workflow question
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2014, 09:15:58 pm »
I'd go with option 1. Its not particularly intrusive once you get started with it and its the most efficient performance wise.

NoradZero

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2014, 10:16:57 pm »