Hello Guest

Author Topic: Sprites, Atlases and memory management  (Read 19204 times)

Dajuice

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
Sprites, Atlases and memory management
« on: March 01, 2013, 02:06:36 pm »
I'll start off by telling you I'd find it normal and not rude at all if you don't answer this but since I don't know where to begin, I'm taking as many paths as possible to get my answers.

I've been making my first unity game for almost 5 months now and you did a great job guiding me through hardships, thanks.
But now I've discovered that (on IOS at least) the profiler is completely irrelevant, or that I'm doing something very wrong, I'm asking you this to make sure I'm not doing something wrong.
The game we're making is really texture heavy (we have over 30 jam packed atlases, most of 'em 1024x1024), at the title screen, the unity profiler tells me it uses about 20MB, the Instruments profiler tells me 90MB. What I understand from that, is that the unity profiler hides the textures that are currently used but not on screen from the memory profiler. This means that the unity profiler tells me that only the title screen is in memory and my other textures are somehow compressed, ready to be used, but in fact my whole UI is loaded with all it's textures fully uncompressed.

So this is it, is there some mojo I must do in order to make the iOS behave just as the unity profiler tells me it behaves, or must I manually manage all those atlases?

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Sprites, Atlases and memory management
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2013, 04:14:10 pm »
How do you load these unused atlases?
Do you have references to these in your game?

Dajuice

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2013, 04:28:20 pm »
They are in the scene, my situation is much like the one from this post http://unikronsoftware.com/2dtoolkit/forum/index.php/topic,1129.msg5377.html#msg5377.