Hello Guest

Author Topic: Nothing showing up in the Preview Window  (Read 4591 times)

gianluca

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Nothing showing up in the Preview Window
« on: September 15, 2013, 08:58:31 am »
Hi there,

I am using 2D Toolkit and trying something as simple as getting a sprite on the game window.
I have added a tk2dCamera and left all its settings to their default.
I have created a Tk 2d Sprite Collection and loaded up few images from an existing sprite sheet.
I have added a sprite to the main scene. I can see the sprite there, however the Game window shows just the default sky color (blue).

Any idea on what I might be missing?

thanks in advance,
Gianluca

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: Nothing showing up in the Preview Window
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2013, 09:23:03 am »
Is the sprite inside the camera bounds?
What are the zvalues on the camera & sprite?

gianluca

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Nothing showing up in the Preview Window
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2013, 11:51:05 am »
camera: (0,0,-10) - clipping (0.3, 1000)

sprite: (0,0,0)


They should be the default values...

thanks again!!

gianluca

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Nothing showing up in the Preview Window
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2013, 08:42:17 pm »
Ok, I am really new at this and I am having some hard time to understand how the mechanism works.

Let's say I have a sprite, which is 60x60.

The default tk2dcamera is positioned at (0,0,-10) by default, native resolution 960x640, Fit visible, Camera resolution: 618x344. (What does all of this mean?!)

The sprite is at (0,0,0) and scale (1,1,1)... and I cannot see anything.

Could you briefly explain me how this works? I've gone through the documentation but I havent been able to find much..

Cheers!

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: Nothing showing up in the Preview Window
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2013, 09:36:22 pm »
Hi,

Have you followed the tutorials?
http://unikronsoftware.com/2dtoolkit/doc/2.20/

By the end of the first set of tutorials, you should be able to create a sprite. Alternatively, look at the whack a mole tutorial tutorial (http://unikronsoftware.com/2dtoolkit/doc/2.20/tutorial/whack_a_mole/index.html) which should walk you through getting started.

Sprites are created at a particular size - whatever your camera size, the collection should be created at the same size. Otherwise you'll have to use "1:1" to resize the sprite to match the camera.

If you're new to all this the whack-a-mole tutorial should be quite useful - it should get you started and covers a lot of the basics.