Hello Guest

Author Topic: IS THAT A BUG  (Read 5069 times)

bloodymin

  • 2D Toolkit
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
IS THAT A BUG
« on: May 12, 2013, 06:31:06 pm »
My project almost done with 2dtoolkit, remaing stuff is only billing and ad.

Anyway

Recently, i tested my game on my friends smart phone device. i found some wierld situation.

device is Galaxy Nexus and Android version was 4.1.1 

In my games i used tk2d camera and there is no unity camera stuff.

So i marked option, using tk2d camera, on my sprite sheet. some 2d sprites i haven't marked and used it.

On the other device i couldn't found this problem.  This is the first time occurs.

The situation is

All of  2d sprites and resources that i marked "use tk2dCamera" are shown as black.

but resolution and others that i haven't checked are shown as fine.   

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: IS THAT A BUG
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2013, 07:28:52 pm »
This is probably the classic too large texture problem. It is a problem with Unity, where if a device doesn't support a texture size it displays as black. Its probably not a bug. Check the size of the textures. If those collections atlases are big, and the device doesn't support textures that size, then you will need to sort it out somehow (breaking it up into 2 collections, etc).

bloodymin

  • 2D Toolkit
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: IS THAT A BUG
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2013, 03:14:12 am »
i see thank you
So you mean is that i need to make two or three divided sprite sheet instead of 1 sprite?
« Last Edit: May 13, 2013, 03:33:28 am by bloodymin »

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: IS THAT A BUG
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2013, 10:14:21 am »
Yes, but only if that is the problem. If your atlas texture is 4096 then that is likely the cause of the issue.

bloodymin

  • 2D Toolkit
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: IS THAT A BUG
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2013, 02:07:17 pm »
thank you. mine was 4096...

So this is hardware problem or OS version? cause i haven't this kind of stuff when i test on Galaxy S2

Anyway thank you very much

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: IS THAT A BUG
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2013, 02:13:30 pm »
Hardware / software limit. And part of the problem is that Unity doesn't throw an error when this happens...
Galaxy s2 max texture size = 4096.
Galaxy nexus = 2048.
Nexus7 = 2048.

You can get more detail from a site like this:
http://gfxbench.com/device.jsp?benchmark=gfx27&D=Google+Nexus+7&testgroup=gl

Or.. SystemInfo.maxTextureSize in Unity.

bloodymin

  • 2D Toolkit
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: IS THAT A BUG
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2013, 09:00:55 am »
thankyou