Hello Guest

Author Topic: Painting irregular size tiles with the tilemap.  (Read 8931 times)

fluffy_fleshwall

• View Profile
Painting irregular size tiles with the tilemap.
« on: August 15, 2012, 09:06:48 am »
Hi, first let me mention that I am very new to both unity and 2DTK.

My problem is the following. I created a sprite collection containing the sprites I want to put in my tile map. for the purposes of making a test I created 4 128x128 tiles and one 128x256 tile. This is because the tiles I will be painting later will be sliced into their full objects.

Painting the 128x128 tiles works like a charm.
Painting the 128x256 tile over a clear area works as well.
But painting the 128x256 tile over a previous tile only paints the first 128x128 area and the rest of it is never painted.

I have attached a screenshot of the problem as well.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

MooNiZZ

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
Re: Painting irregular size tiles with the tilemap.
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2012, 11:08:33 am »
A tilemap should never use irregular sprites. That's a no-no.
You should split the 128x256 up in 2 tiles instead.
Import the image as a spritesheet and define it as 128x128 in the collection editor, and you'll get 2 sprites out of it.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2012, 11:24:00 am by MooNiZZ »

fluffy_fleshwall

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2012, 11:24:49 am »
Got another plugin called Unitile, works like a charm.

MooNiZZ

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2012, 11:33:20 am »
Still, best practice is to never use irregular sized sprites for a tilemap. And Uni-tile probably do the exact same thing I explained, just automatically. The rest of the functionality is in the 2d Tool Kit.

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2012, 07:33:53 pm »