Hello Guest

Author Topic: Mobile Resolutions and Screen Sizes?  (Read 25054 times)

blazingriver

• View Profile
Mobile Resolutions and Screen Sizes?
« on: July 19, 2014, 03:11:12 pm »
Hi,
I am fairly new to unity and especially new to the 2D toolkit so please forgive any of my mistakes. Also, I am sorry if this topic has been discussed to death (which I am sure it has), but I am having difficulty comprehending the instructions on resolutions and screen sizes given within the 2D toolkit's documentation. I know screen sizes and resolutions are two separate issue, which have to both be undertaken separately. Could someone give me a simple step by step guide on how to make a 2D iOS (the platform that I am targeting) game have a resolution compatible with all the different generations of iOS devices and platforms (e.g. iPhone/iPad/(mini)) and how to make the screen size adapt to the different devices (e.g. iPhone 5s and 3gs). I am familiar with the overrides discussed within the documentation but I am unsure how to specifically apply it to the resolutions. A step by step guide on both the resolution and screen size compatibility (to make it a universal app) would really be helpful since I am generally unsure about both topics.

Also, would I use the lower resolution of the 3gs or the higher resolution of the 5s or the resolution of the iPad as the native resolution?

Thanks in advance! (and sorry if anything I have mentioned is obvious, since as I mentioned, I am new to Unity so please forgive me :) )

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Mobile Resolutions and Screen Sizes?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2014, 04:49:07 pm »
Start with 3gs resolution artwork. Add a tk2d camera with 1 wildcard override set to fit visible. It should work on all your platforms. Try the different things there on different device resolutions to figure out how they work. It should be pretty straightforward to understand when you see it working.

blazingriver

• View Profile